Every state has its own unique laws for car accidents, and Nevada is no exception. These laws and regulations determine how accident damages and injuries are paid for. It’s not unusual for the at-fault driver to lie to avoid responsibility.
After a car accident in Nevada, people need appropriate guidance about the laws applying to their situation to get their rightful compensation.
Legal Obligations for Drivers Filing Claim for Car Accident in Nevada:
Car accident laws in Nevada require the drivers to take precise steps instantly after they face an accident, including drivers driving cars, trucks, motorcycles, commercial vehicles, or even pedestrians. If you flee from the scene, it may result in criminal hit-and-run charges.
In Nevada, the drivers have five following obligations if they meet an accident:
- First, they should move away from traffic safely.
- Then, they are required to exchange the contact numbers and insurance information, which includes the driver’s license number and vehicle info such as the plate number, model, and make.
- Assist the injured people in case someone else has got hurt at the scene.
- Call the police immediately. This is a vital step if you have faced any injuries or property damage costs over $750
- Either you or the police must report the severe accidents to the Department of Motor vehicles. The reporting is usually done by the police officer who attends the scene; the DMV should be notified within the 10 days of the accident, especially when there have been any fatalities, injuries, or damages of more than $750.
- If the driver hits an unoccupied vehicle, it is their duty to leave the contact information or contact the owner to inform them of the incident.
According to the laws for car accidents in Nevada, individuals involved in the accident should not admit any fault, apologize, or deny getting injured. At times the wounds are not apparent. After facing a traumatic event, drivers or passengers are usually unable to think straight or make any right decision.
Some of the underlying causes of an accident could be the driver operating the vehicle under the influence, some equipment defects, or the driver might be driving unsafely.
If you have also met any car accident recently, file an accident to your insurance company and get an experienced lawyer to fight for your case. At times, the at-fault drivers lie to save their money after meeting the car accident. When you contact your insurance company and lawyer, they will work together and do their best to get you the rightfully deserving compensation. Insurance companies follow strict rules regarding accidents. Know that if you would fail to report on time, this may adversely affect your policy.
What to Do if the At-Fault Driver is Lying?
Know that Nevada has strict laws regarding the drivers who lie to save their money after they have caused damages and injured you. If you are certain that it was the other driver’s fault, then the first and foremost thing that you should consider doing is to get yourself medically examined for your injuries. Once you are done with the medical examination, save the doctor’s reports to keep them as legit evidence for your case.
Secondly, you must contact a lawyer. Having an experienced lawyer fighting for your case will ease your hurdles. The lawyer will go to every extinct to ensure that you get the money you deserve. They will also collect every evidence required to prove the at-fault driver and fight with the insurance company for any false claim.
Factors Determining the Driver’s Fault:
Below are some of the issues that can help you prove the at-fault driver’s carelessness.
- The driving speed of the petitioner and the respondent
- Weather and road conditions
- Location of the accident, traffic signs, signals, and rules
- Reports that are submitted by police and witnesses, and so on
When a driver is at fault, it affects their insurance rates and policies. The claims made by the injured driver who was not at fault can’t be held against them. This means that your insurance company cannot refuse to issue, cancel, not renew, or increase/decrease the policy rates.
However, based on the law, when a driver is found exactly 50% at fault or even higher, their insurers may take adversative action against the policyholder.
Contact an Attorney Now:
It is imperative to have on your side an attorney who can protect your rights, especially when the at-fault driver is denying their fault and lying to save themselves from the charges. An expert attorney will assist you in collecting a fair cost after the accident when you file a petition for a car accident in Nevada. At Christian Morris Trial Attorneys, our reliable attorneys will help prove your case and ensure to share each and every relevant evidence and information with the court to get your rightful compensation.