When driving, it is paramount for the driver to ensure that the safety of people nearby is not compromised. Like any state, Nevada car & truck laws also provide that motorists do not miss out and give undivided attention while driving. These laws prohibit certain activities, and most of them are similar for cars and heavy-duty vehicles like trucks.
Since more people are learning to drive each day, the number of drivers, be it for trucks or cars, is increasing drastically. With that being said, accidents are also increasing, and more people are getting injured due to reckless driving. If we compare car and truck accidents, above 7.2 million car accidents happen in the U.S every year. However, even though there are fewer truck accidents, they cause more severe damage due to their size.
To avoid these crashes and injuries, the least one can do to follow the rules. Below are mentioned some of Nevada car & truck laws that you might not be aware of.
Nevada Car & Truck Laws:
Here are some important car & truck laws that Nevada drivers need to know about.
Texting and Driving:
The revised statute 484B.165 has made it illegal for drivers in Nevada to use a hand-held cell phone, text or send a message, or access the internet while driving anywhere in the state.
Based on the studies, if a vehicle on the highway loses control for even as little as 5 seconds, that time would be enough for a motorist to crash a pedestrian or another car.
However, the law allows drivers to use a hands-free headset to make calls. But the device is required to be mounted to the dashboard. Also, the driver would be allowed to touch the phone to accept a call or turn off the phone. Nevertheless, it is imperative for the device to be hands-free while the driver is talking.
The exception when the motorists are allowed to use their phones is only when they have to report criminal activity, a medical emergency, or a safety hazard.
Also, drivers are permitted to use a voice-operated navigation system like GPS that accesses the internet. Moreover, police and other law enforcement officers can use the internet or a hand-held device while on duty or in the scope of their employment.
Eating and Driving:
Having a burger behind the wheel seems tempting. However, some laws could result in a motorist receiving a ticket. The Clark County Code 14.60.190 allows law enforcement officers to give a ticket if drivers are not giving their entire attention to operating their vehicles. A transgression conviction can land the driver in jail for up to 6 months along with a $1,000 fine. Nevertheless, since this is a local ordinance, it only applies to the boundaries of Clark County. Drivers outside the limits are not bound by this ordinance.
The law is applied to eating and driving because it is said that a driver’s reaction time is slowed by 44% while they are eating, which could easily distract them and divert their attention away from the road, eventually leading to the accident.
Some laws also prohibit careless driving. Reno Administrative Code 6.06.720 clearly prohibits driving a vehicle carelessly. According to some officers eating while driving falls under this section, and they could issue a traffic ticket based on it.
Putting on Makeup and Driving:
Just like eating or texting, putting on makeup or brushing hair is also not allowed. Even though there are no certain laws that clearly prohibit the action, but the activity could impair the driver’s ability to drive carefully. And as a result, they may run afoul of local ordinances and get a ticket.
Smoking Marijuana and Driving:
It is not something new to know that drinking alcohol before driving is illegal. However, another thing that is illegal before driving is to smoke marijuana. Even though Nevada has decriminalized its recreational use, this still does not mean that the users are free to take a toke while or before.
Instead, the DUI law criminalizes driving after consuming marijuana. An individual is classified as being under the influence in the situations where:
- There are 2 Nanograms per ml. of marijuana or 5 Nanograms per ml. of marijuana in their metabolite
- The substance impairs the driver’s ability to operate the vehicle safely
The first-time offenders undergo the following punishment for a marijuana DUI offense:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Community service
- Fine for up to $1000
- License suspension lasting 90 days
In case of a subsequent offense, the defendants can get harsher penalties to comply. With enough convictions, drivers might permanently lose their facility to drive in Nevada.
At Christian Morris Trial Attorneys, we have helped several victims obtain compensation after auto accidents that have left them with serious injuries. Our skilled lawyers are well aware of Nevada car & truck laws and can negotiate a tough settlement if you have faced harm by a careless or distracted driver.