One of the most challenging situations for any car wreck attorney in Las Vegas is when a client was injured by an uninsured driver. Although driving on public roads in Nevada without insurance is an offence punishable by fines and fees, a lot of drivers do not have a valid third party liability insurance policy.
When they hit another car by negligence, the accident victim is faced with a serious dilemma: who will pay their economic damages? Who will cover their hospital bills and cost to repair their car, or even replace it? An experienced personal injury attorney at the Christian Morris Trial Attorneys law firm will always give you the best advice on a case by case basis. However, we can give you an outline of what usually happens in these situations.
What Are the Driver Insurance Requirements in Nevada?
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicle states very clearly that all drivers should carry the following minimum coverage amounts:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident with multiple victims
- $20,000 for property damage.
There is no grace period, so if a driver’s policy expired on the previous day, they are liable to receive a penalty and possible suspension of the registration. Also, the fines for driving uninsured are quite significant and increase for repeat offenders from $250 to $1,750.
Apart from the mandatory third party liability coverage (which pays for the other driver’s damages) auto insurance companies offer the option of purchasing uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This supplementary insurance can be extremely helpful if you were involved in a traffic accident with a driver who does not have an insurance policy or whose available coverage is not sufficient to pay for all your damages.
Things to Do After a Crash with an Uninsured Driver
It is very important to get an uninsured driver’s complete and accurate contact details. They may attempt to evade their responsibility to pay for your damages. In some cases, uninsured drivers will commit a hit and run accident, as any personal injury lawyer in Las Vegas has seen in many cases they analyzed.
Thus, as a general rule, always get at least a photo of the license plate of the other car as soon as possible after the crash. You can then call 9-1-1 to report the accident and ask for an ambulance. The other driver is obliged by law to offer you assistance and call an ambulance if you are incapacitated. If they do no do so, you may have grounds to ask for punitive damages in a personal injury lawsuit.
Once you are sure that you are dealing with an uninsured driver, this is what you should do:
Document the Accident Scene Very Carefully
If you do not have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, you will most likely have to sue the negligent driver for damages. In a court of law, the evidence is even more important than during settlement negotiations with an insurance adjuster.
For this reason, you should film and photograph absolutely every detail of the accident scene, including:
- The position of the vehicles immediately after the crash
- Your injuries
- The damage to your car and other personal items (mobile phone, smartwatch, etc.)
- Any skid marks, potholes or debris in the road
- Any traffic signals, indicating that the other driver violated traffic laws.
At the same time, look for any persons who witnessed the accident and ask them for their contact details. Most people are willing to give eyewitness statements and help you win your case.
Receive Treatment for Your Injuries
A car wreck attorney in Nevada knows that you may be wary about hospital bills and medical care costs, knowing that you do not have the option to recover them from the other driver’s insurer. However, you must seek medical attention as soon as possible, for several reasons. The first, of course, is for your own safety and wellbeing. Even a whiplash can result in severe symptoms such as recurring headaches and neck stiffness.
However, the worst injuries in any car crash are those to the spine, head and internal organs. In many cases, internal bleeding and internal organ damage do not show any symptoms during the first hours. However, once a person starts feeling sick, their condition is very serious already. This is why you should go to a hospital as soon as possible for investigations and treatment.
Secondly, you will have to prove that you sustained your injuries in that car crash. Any lawyer representing the other driver will challenge your claim if you do not have a medical record indicated that you received treatment within a few hours after the crash.
Let a Car Wreck Attorney in Las Vegas Analyze Your Case
An experienced personal injury lawyer in Las Vegas knows that people drive without insurance for various reasons. One, as explained above, is that they forgot to renew it. As trivial as it may seem, even a few hours make the difference between being and not being insured.
However, as a report published by the Insurance Research Council indicates, almost 80% of uninsured drivers do not have a policy because they don’t afford it. This is a difficult situation, because it may well mean that the respective person also does not own sufficient assets to ensure that you collect your jury award at the end of a personal injury lawsuit.
However, in some cases, you may be able to recover at least a part of your economic losses. After a car crash, every dollar you can get back matters a lot for your family’s financial stability. An experienced personal injury lawyer in Las Vegas will diligently pursue any eligible assets belonging to the fault driver that may be converted into money to pay for your damages.
Hire a Dedicated and Experienced Personal Injury Law Firm in Nevada!
Christian Morris Trial Attorneys law firm has an experienced team with a combined experience of 30 years working for insurance companies. We know everything about how insurance works and how to pursue liable parties to recover your damages.
We know that you are already struggling to pay your medical bills, so we work on a contingency fee basis. This means that we will collect our fees after we win your case, out of the settlement amount or jury award.
Please remember that you only have 2 years (the statute of limitations for personal injury cases) to take legal action against the negligent drivers. In the case of an uninsured driver, this is the most likely scenario, so your car wreck attorney in Las Vegas will need sufficient time to prepare your case. Thus, we encourage you to call us and schedule a free case review as soon as possible after your accident: (702) 434-8282!